Pluto recognised as ninth planet by Sirocco

DISTANT RELATIVE: NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft took this photograph of the planet Pluto on Monday, the first clear view of the distant planet since its discovery in 1930.

Havilland, WE, Jul 15 · Jln 31, 69 – The new year will begin with nine planets in the Solar System after the passing of the Pluto Act 2015 last night.

To commemorate the historic fly-by of the planet by NASA’s New Horizons spacecraft, the legislation officially declares that Pluto is the ninth planet of the Solar System according to Siroccan law.

The decision dismisses the 2006 decision by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) to demote Pluto from planetary status to that of a ‘dwarf planet’, a move that has never been popular in Sirocco.

According to section 1.2 of the Act:

Pluto shall be accorded the rights to which it is due as the ninth planet of the Solar System, and as such shall be considered as the rightful ninth planet.

The Act also expresses apologies on behalf of Sirocco to Pluto for the planet’s treatment by the IAU.

While the Act is mostly symbolic, it will have the effect of prohibiting the distribution of material referring to Pluto as a dwarf planet.

The Institute of Scientific Research has welcomed the new legislation, and has said its future publications will adhere to the stipulations of the Act.

Pluto will be returned to its former status at 4am Sirocco time tomorrow, to mark the beginning of the new Atomic decade.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: